Thanks Thanks:  18
Likes Likes:  54
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is CCV Filter Removal Safe?

1. Top Of Page | #1

User Info Menu

Is CCV Filter Removal Safe?

I have seen a number of posts and videos on how to gut the CCV filter and vent it direct to atmosphere with a screen.

I understand a lot of people believe this filter to be as useful as the EGR and just want to remove it and save the $100 to replace it.

My question is this; The way the hose from the CCV filter goes to the air intake just above the turbo compressor wheel there must be a significant amount of negative pressure created.

This must ensure there is no pressure build up in the crank case.

If you remove the filter media and vent directly to atmosphere, will this be sufficient to prevent a significant pressure in the crank case, or is there a risk of blowing seals if you just vent to atmosphere?

I'm not a diesel mechanic, but I understand that with the very high combustion pressure there can be quite high crank case pressure with a small amount of blow by.

The up side to this mod is keeping the compressor wheel, intercooler and parts down stream free of oil contamination, which I would think is a good thing?

Bottom line.....Is this a safe mod?

2. Top Of Page | #2

User Info Menu

There are a lot of folks that do this.

And the older engines did vent into the atmosphere...but I actually like the idea of having the crankcase evacuated by the intake.

Yes a little oil can end up in the intake but that's better than blown seals.

Not to mention evacuation helps piston ring seal as well.

Ray
    Double R Diesel, LLC
    www.doublerdiesel.com
    info@doublerdiesel.com

The Cummins Whisperer! John 3:16, Romans 10:9-10...Tuning for the Heart and Soul.

3. Thanks IGOTACUMMINS thanked for this post
  4. Top Of Page | #3

User Info Menu

I think you are right, so here is another question.