Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  3
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sinister diesel Cat fuel filter adaptor??

1. Top Of Page | #1

User Info Menu

Sinister diesel Cat fuel filter adaptor??

Anyone in here using the sinister diesel cat fuel filter adaptor? I have an 06 Cummins and was wondering if it works good? I'm a technician for Cat and can get the filters cheap. Any thoughts on This product?

HAMMERHEAD

--Work gives you meaning and purpose, Life is empty without it--

2. Top Of Page | #2
    Old... But Still Here! AnOldBiker's Avatar

User Info Menu

I've heard most of the Cat filters are very good. This one is a 1-14 thread filter rated at 2 micron. If you asking if someone has this system, I don't. But from what I see, it's a good unit if your looking at buying one. Sorry, I fogot to look at their cost when I looked them up at Sinisters site.

Even of you HomeDepot make the unit and use the Cat 1R-0750 filter, it should be good. (2 micron is good for the fuel system and the injectors) From what I see, if i could get them at a very good price like you say you can, I'd change from buying the Donaldson filters I do now and convert to them.

3. Top Of Page | #3

User Info Menu

Yea the filter will cost $11 at the cat store I work at. The whole unit from sinister is $170. I believe I can get it in ultra high efficiency as well not sure. Seems like a good switch to me.

HAMMERHEAD

4. Top Of Page | #4

User Info Menu

That's what I pay for my Donaldson, (plus a few pennies more) plus shipping. So it's a good choice. You can pay the Sinister bucks, or if your handy in the shop, you might make yours from filter heads from NAPA or such. Might find one in Cat that might wrk. The advantage of buying a unit is all the parts are there when you start. I bought mine from XX-Fuel, and very happy with it. But there out of business now.

Here's a picture of mine, with fuel and water separator. Tucked up there nice and neat plus out of the way.

Attached Images Attached Images