Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: P0191 Fuel Rail Sensor

1. Top Of Page | #1

User Info Menu

P0191 Fuel Rail Sensor

I have a stock 2010 2500 and recently got P0191 code. I've searched the forum on how to change the sensor but still have questions. Do I have to bleed the fuel rail, if so how to bleed it? and whats the best way to remove it and special tools or just put a wrench on it and take it off? I am new to working on diesels so any help would be appreciated.

2. Top Of Page | #2

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by gbroome View Post
    I have a stock 2010 2500 and recently got P0191 code. I've searched the forum on how to change the sensor but still have questions. Do I have to bleed the fuel rail, if so how to bleed it? and whats the best way to remove it and special tools or just put a wrench on it and take it off? I am new to working on diesels so any help would be appreciated.
    No and No

The rail pressure drops to zero almost immediately after shut down. Give it a minute or two. Since the sensor is on top of the rail, there is no drainage. The fitting on the sensor is a hex. Use a deep socket. If there is a hex on the rail under the sensor, hold that with another wrench. They're on there pretty tight.

2 things
    1. Make sure you have a fresh washer seal for the sensor. They usually come with the sensor. If not, find one. Sometimes you can get by with the old ones, but that is a bad spot to have a leak at 25,000 PSI.
    2. Work Clean Work Clean Work Clean. Smart thing would be to wash the motor down especially around that plenum. You don't want to introduce any dirt to the rail. The dirt could get to an injector and kill it. The 6.7 injectors are very sensitive to contaminants. a new injector is $2K plus labor. Not something a novice should do

Are you sure it's sensor? Could be
    - High fuel pressure
    - Low fuel pressure
    - Damaged FRP sensor
    - Excessive resistance in the circuit
    - Low or no fuel