Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  3
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: S&B or AFE For Christmas?

1. Top Of Page | #1

User Info Menu

S&B or AFE For Christmas?

My son has an '01 5 speed with a FASS, 5" straight pipe and a SMARTY. Looking to get one of these as a gift this year for him. He does live down a dirt road but not sure if that matters. From what I have seen from pics it looks like the S&B has 2 intakes with optional covers and the AFE has 2 without covers. Am I right?
    I have no experience with these so can someone tell me which would be best. And also which stage as I know nothing of that.?
    Thanks!!

2. Top Of Page | #2

User Info Menu

The S & B has the two openings. One is down by the fender well and the other draws the air from the inner fender where the stock one does. From what I can tell, the only time dust would be a problem is if he's following someone or stops in the middle of the road from stirring up dust. The S & B has a cover over the top of the enclosure. The filter element is completely enclosed. I thought the AFE was wide open.

My personal preference is the S & B

2003- 3500 RWD Automatic.
    S & B intake, BD Intercooler, Pusher Air Horn, MM3 Double R Tuning, Turbo Timer, electric Flex-a-lite fans, FASS 95,
    50 HP tips, upgrade to 351 turbo, 3.42 gears, Twin air compressors, air bags, Remote dual oil filters, Hellwig sway bar, Front Winch. Home made Fuel Heater, BD Exhaust brake with Torque Lock. Tons of TLC

3. Top Of Page | #3

User Info Menu

S&B here and happy with it.

2014 Ram 2500 CCSB Ram Box Larime
    2011 Ram 5500
    2006 Diesel Jeep Liberty
    RIP. 2016 Tradesman 2500 picked up 9/28/16 MM3 DRD Tuning 107K miles wrecked by jeep wrangler.....

Other Toys: 1973 Charger Bougham edition 400 big block 42K original miles
    Unicycles (about 3 dozen)

6 in a row makes her go

4. Top Of Page | #4
    Basic Member

User Info Menu