Thanks Thanks:  11
Likes Likes:  31

Thread: Looking To Regear - Gears For Towing - 3.73 VS. 4.11?

1. Top Of Page | #1

User Info Menu

Looking To Regear - Gears For Towing - 3.73 VS. 4.11?

I am possibly looking to regear my 2016 Ram 3500 SRW, stock 18" tire size, with 3.42 gears for towing heavy.

If anyone has been following along in my towing section thread, I am towing a 5th wheel that puts the total weight at the truck's GCVW stated capacity.

As such, my truck is now having a hard time getting the weight around.

I have already begun to enter into financial negotiations with my wife to support the cost of gear.

We have not come to terms yet, but it is trending favorably.

I can do the installation myself as I have plenty of installation experience and all the necessary specialized tools, so I am only out of the cost of gears and oil.

Ideally, I would leave the 3.42 gears in it and lockout 6th, but I don't spend all of my time towing at 65mph.

I spend time accelerating, slowing down, and speeding up due to stop lights, signs, and traffic.

I am stuck between 3.73 and 4.11 gears.

I am leaning towards 4.11 gears because that will be a more significant advantage and should enable 6th gear towing.

I know the "max tow" dually had 4.10 gears with smaller tires.

I suspect the Asin and 68RFE have similar overdrive ratios.

I am pretty sure I read the 68RFE has a gear advantage in the lower gears.

Any advice, experience, or input?

My Truck: 2016 Ram 3500 Laramie, granite crystal metallic/tan interior, CCLB SRW 4x4, 68RFE, 6.7 Cummins, rear air, 5th wheel pkg. MODS: MM3 w/tunes, EGR delete, ITC grid heater delete, GDP airhorn, GDP heater, ARP 625 head studs, FloPro 5", REVMAX billet VB, Synergy steering, Thuren .5" lift/sway, Fox remote res shocks, Morimoto HIDs and LED fogs.
    My 5th Wheel: 2022 Grand Design 390 RK, 3 ACs, Gen Prep, too much storage ~16,000 rolling.

2. Thanks IGOTACUMMINS thanked for this post
  3. Top Of Page | #2

User Info Menu