Thanks Thanks:  9
Likes Likes:  17

Thread: Extreme Amp Draw From OBD2 Port

1. Top Of Page | #1

User Info Menu

Extreme Amp Draw From OBD2 Port

I hope I am in the right place, as this is my first post. Sorry if I screwed it up.

At this point, this is more of a post to inform everyone of what issues I had, how I troubleshot them, and hopefully the fix, in case anyone else is having the same symptoms I can save them the multiple hours of research. However, any insight will be very appreciated. I am self-taught on everything I did from this Forum as well as other places of similar nature on the internet.

I have a 2018 Ram 2500 Laramie, tuned, with an MM3.

Any other electronics I have on my truck are through a separate fuse panel and I have that disconnected to rule any of them out.

Last week I came out to a dead truck that was sitting for 45 hours. (4 volts each checking with a voltmeter directly on the batteries)

So the troubleshooting began.

I charged up the truck with a tender overnight and started with testing the batteries and alternator.

All checked out. (740cca batteries and they showed about 750cca.

The alternator charges fine and the diodes are working properly)

The next step was the parasitic draw test.

Disconnected the negative on the driver side, run a jumper, disconnect the passenger side to the negative.

Hooked up amp meter probes on the driver's side and remove the jumper.

It was all over the place ranging from 1.30 to 4.80 amps (Yes Amps not milliamps).

I started pulling fuses one by one until I finally got to the diagnostics fuse.

The problem went away and the draw dropped significantly down to 80 milliamps for a few minutes and then down to about 30-50 milliamps after it went to sleep mode.

I confirmed this 1 more time and the same thing happened.

With the fuse replaced, I disconnected the MM3 from the OBD2 port and checked again for amp draw.